Forthcoming titles

(Book titles are subject to change)

The War with Turkey in 2 vols

Richard Harding Davis in Cuba

The Liverpool Rifles

Australians on the Western Front

Marshal Blucher

The Coldstream Guards during the Napoleonic Wars

The Gaspipe Officer

The Bengal Artillery


Woman of the Revolution

Third Leonaur Book of Ghost and Horror Stories

Sir Howard Douglas

Supernatural James Platt

Battle of Jutland

Congreves Rockets

Hew Dalrymple

Marshal Ney's Military Studies

The Orphan Brigade 

and many others

The Collected Supernatural and Weird Fiction of Mrs Oliphant: Volume 2

enlarge Click on image to enlarge
enlarge Mouse over the image to zoom in
The Collected Supernatural and Weird Fiction of Mrs Oliphant: Volume 2
Leonaur Original
Qty:     - OR -   Add to Wish List

Also available at:

Amazon Depository Wordery

Author(s): Mrs Oliphant
Date Published: 2014/09
Page Count: 388
Softcover ISBN-13: 978-1-78282-372-8
Hardcover ISBN-13: 978-1-78282-371-1

A three volume collection of the ghostly tales of Mrs. Oliphant

Scottish author, Margaret Oliphant belonged to a well known and highly regarded group of female fiction writers of the Victorian period. Their individual talents are undeniable, but their career paths often followed a remarkably similar pattern. Most were writers of both novels and short stories, all were prolific and able to turn their pens successfully to a variety subjects and themes. Many of them wrote regularly for the periodicals of the day, and Mrs. Oliphant (her usual nom-de-plume) frequently wrote for ‘Blackwood’s Magazine’ and specialised in the creation of tales of domestic realism, historical fiction and the genre for which she is most remembered today, ghost stories. That harshest of literary critics—and one of the finest exponents of the craft of supernatural fiction—M. R. James thought highly of Margaret Oliphant’s work in the genre, drawing particular attention in his writings on the subject to her long ghost story ‘The Beleaguered City,’ which is included in this comprehensive three volume edition of Mrs. Oliphant’s well crafted and chilling tales of the uncanny.
In volume two readers will find long and haunting stories of the strange and unusual including ‘Old Lady Mary,’ ‘A Beleaguered City’, ‘The Open Door,’ ‘The Lady’s Walk,’ ‘The Library Window’ and ‘The Portrait’.
Leonaur editions are newly typeset and are not facsimiles; each title is available in softcover and hardback with dustjacket.

You may also like